Friday, January 15, 2016

Amaechi Named Ohanaeze Igbo Man Of The Year

Rotimi Amaechi, the minister of transport, has received the 2015 Igbo Man of the Year Award.
Rotimi Amaechi has been named the Igbo Man of the Year.
Daily Post reports that Mazi Okwu Nnabuike, the national secretary of the Ohanaeze Youth Council, announced this during a press briefing on Thursday, January 15.
The secretary revealed that the former governor of Rivers state won the award after a stiff poll organised by the OYC. He added that the award would be officially conferred on Amaechi on Saturday, January 30, at Nike Lake Hotel in Enugu.
Okwu also stated that Senator Ike Ekweremadu, the deputy Senate president, has been named the outstanding Igbo politician of the year.
When asked to explain why Amaechi won the award, the secretary said that the ex-governor’s actions before and during the presidential election helped in deepening Nigeria’s democracy.

“We recall how he doggedly fought and retained his position as the chairman of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum, against all odds.
“Apart from that, as the director of President Buhari’s campaign team, he gallantly led the fight that led to the change in the country today. These no doubt, put him forward as a true Igbo son from the South-South.
“On the part of Senator Ike Ekweremadu, apart from the effective representation he has given to his constituency and the South-East Zone, he emerged as the Deputy Senate President against all odds,” he said.
He further explained that Governor Obiano was named the best Igbo Governor of the Year because he had made a remarkable impact and had created many indelible records.

Winners of other categories include: Governor Willy Obiano – the best Igbo governor of the year, Senator Hope Uzodimma – the Igbo legislator of the year, Chief Ifeanyi Ubah – the Igbo entrepreneur of the year, Leo Stan Ekeh – the Igbo Scientist of the year, Prof Ben Nwabueze – the Igbo elder statesman of the year, Prof May Nwoye – the Igbo Woman of the year.
Others are Ogbonnaya Onu – the Igbo minister of the year, Chief Charles Okereke – the Igbo journalist of the year, Chief Innocent Chukwuma – the Igbo investor of the year, Chief Author Eze – the Igbo philanthropist of the year, Chief Maduka Onyishi – the Igbo transporter of the year.